Match Of The Year (vs. Brad Jackson, 2CW Cardinal Sin iPPV)

 

ON CAMERA

The video opens inside a garden. Adam Stryker, wearing a checkered shirt and jeans is standing there, with SPITFIRE Championship resting on his right shoulder. Adam is looking straight at the camera, visibly focused on his match.

“Eventually… it had to come to this,” he says, nodding his head, “two of the greatest wrestlers in 2CW, hell, two of the greatest in the world… colliding.”

A slight smirk forms on the face of The SoCal Switchblade.

“See… there’s a reason I stormed the ring after your match with Caliban and cut you in twine with The Stryke. The reason is… I care for Second City Wrestling. I’ve dubbed this promotion my home away from home many times before and the thing I want the most is for this promotion to have success and produce five star wrestling shows every time, all the time. I knew that we would square off, Brad, every booker and everyone who knows a bit or two about professional wrestling would smell the money in that match. But… it wouldn’t be… it. You know what I mean? We would wrestle our routine, ten to fifteen minutes tops, shake our hands at the beginning and at the end, cash our checks and walk our separate paths. Is THAT what anybody wants?” he asks with an ironic tone and shakes his head.

“Nope. The people who’ll come to All American Sports Mall in St. Louis, Missouri, the people watching on GoFightLive via iPPV and of course also the people streaming the event illegally, they all want to see a bloodbath. Not just a wrestling match, but an all out war. That’s why I attacked you, because I wanted to awake that bloodthirsty monster inside of you and make sure our match will be one that neither of us will leave the same.

I think I did a pretty good job with that, didn’t I?” he asks the rhetorical question, smiling wide and adjusting the belt on his shoulder.

“Brad Jackson… I could run down all the accomplishments of me and you, but I don’t want to stand here for another two hours. You are a multiple time World Champion, a Hall of Famer, I am a multiple time and current heavyweight champion of the world,” he says glancing at the SPITFIRE Championship, “and one of the greatest and most talked about wrestlers of the last decade. Safe to say… our encounter this Saturday will be a historic one. I want it to fulfill its potential – outgrow Pariah vs. Norcia, outgrow the Heritage Classic, outgrow Aries vs. Hawkes… I want it to be a match of the year, Brad, that’s what I want…

I’ve had a few candidates for that award already. All those remarkable contests against Pat Gordon Jr., especially the one where he separated my shoulder… my PWX battles with Zion and Hollywood… the knockout 2/3 falls with Nighthawk… those have all been absolutely incredible matches, but I want this match to be above them? Why?”

Adam chuckles, folding arms across the chest.

“Well that’s easy. I want to prove a certain point to everybody watching. See, I am widely recognised as a workhorse. I run a prestigeous wrestling school where I help the youngsters break into the business, I try to work on stuff with my colleagues when I’m under a contract of a promotion, I promote the organisation left and right and I wrestle four to five star matches for it every time I get between those ropes. And what do I get in return? A big “unappreciated” stamp on my fucking forehead, if anything at all. But when guys like Norcia or Jackson decide to hop in for a match, they get a round of applause, standing ovation, eventhough they usually pack their shit and leave right after. Let me tell you a big truth right here, people, okay? Brad Jackson is just a big name on the poster to lure in some money from your pockets. Adam Stryker is the best thing going for Second City Wrestling, and he will be for a long, long time. This Saturday, when me and you go to war, Brad Jackson… it’s not only a legend versus legend, it’s not only the past against the present, it’s not only a war for supremacy and bragging rights… most importantly, it’s a war for the future of 2CW.

Brad Jackson,” Stryker says, aiming his best gameface at the camera, “if you win, the company will continue to rely on part-timers and big names that once used to mean something. If I win, maybe Second City Wrestling will finally realise that the best for them revolves around Adam Stryker. You what that means, Dark Horse? That no matter if the trainers will carry me out of All American Sports Mall on a fucking stretcher… they will carry me out the winner. Because I live and breathe for professional wrestling, I live and breathe for 2CW… and this Saturday in St. Louis… I’m ready to die for it.”

With those words, the scene fades to black.

This entry was posted in Roleplays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment