Keep The Belt Warm (vs. Tiami Tyler, PWX Adrenaline 82)

Adrenalinethreadbanner
ON CAMERA

We fade in to the Stryke Dojo in Los Angeles, where the head trainer and owner of the place, Adam Stryker, is sitting on the apron of the training ring. Sporting jeans and the red variant of his new “Hashtag” t-shirt, Adam is looking pretty content and relaxed.

“I was expecting nothing less, but still – that was a glorious return for Adam Stryker.”

Adam smirks.

“I thought Anton Chase would give me a fight and he gave me just that. The fans were obviously on their feet for that match, and it could have ended up any way… but in the end, it ended up MY way with The Stryke and the one, two, three. See, that’s the new trend of PWX that came in when I returned – no matter who or what you put in front of me, things are always gonna end up my way. No more bullshit, just as I promised.

This week, the game has been one-upped as I’m facing off against the person with the PWX World Championship around her waist, Tiami Tyler. Now there’s a crucial difference between the booking of The Establishment Era and the new, current Pariah Era. While Darin and Brian booked shows the way their favorite guys get the spotlight, John actually knows this business, and after 15 years, he knows how to treat his top players and how to make a great show. That’s one of the reasons why I was persuaded to come back, because I knew I would finally get my rightful place at the top.

Now… Tiami… we finally come face to face.”

Adam laughs a little, scratching his head.

“I believe that you’ve been dying to get your hands around my throat after what I’ve done to you at Civil War. You’ve always been like that, baby, you’ve always been an impulsive little bitch that scratched and backstabbed until you got exactly what you wanted. I know that, because I’ve known your for a long, long time. In fact… you were my first win in PWX competition.

It was at Adrenaline 19. I was a struggling guy, still looking for his first win weeks after his debut. You were, at the time, a tag team partner of Jessica Harmony if I remember it correctly, and you were number one contenders to the tag team belts. I was having a little dispute with your then-boyfriend Joe Johnson, a man who I still greatly respect eventhough he is not in active competition anymore. I lost to him, I remember it like it was yesterday, but what I remember even more is when me and you got in the ring… it was beautiful. I’ve had many moments in my career when I’ve felt relieved, but this was definitely the best one. When I snapped that submission on you and heard you not just tap but smack the canvas as you were giving up… I knew that it was only the beginning. I knew I would go to great heights in PWX. And I knew that you… will always fall to my feet when I’ll want to. And I was right, because when we faced for the second time at Adrenaline 72, once again I prevailed.”

With an ear to ear smile, Stryker jumps off the apron to stand in front of the camera.

“See, Tiami, there is an old saying I’ve memorised. It claims that heavy is the head wearing the crown. Now I really can’t argue that, but there is an important thing to be added. Only the weak let their head fall down, and on the contrary, the true strong sovereigns can hold their heads up high, no matter how heavy their crowns are. You can think how much of a queen you are, Tiami, but that’s only in your fairytaley little mind, because in reality you are the weak link of Pro Wrestling X, and one of the many bad choices of The Establishment.

Now, if you remember the beginning of this promo, Tiami, I called you ‘the person with the PWX Championship around her waist’. Yes, that’s right, I didn’t call you a champion because you aren’t one, you aren’t even ready to be one. Being a champion, especially a World Champion, means you go out there week in, week out and set a certain standard for the competition in the promotion. You can’t do that, Tiami, you failed to lead your team to victory in Civil War, you failed to beat Tim Hunt in a Last Man Standing match and this week, no matter how hard you’ll try, no matter how much of your talent you’re gonna use, you’re going to fail again against THE best professional wrestler on the PWX roster.”

Stryker nods once, wearing a proud smile on his face.

“No, Tiami, you’re not a champion by any means. Like many before you, you got lucky and your time with the cherished championship will be short lived. You are a belt-warmer, Tiami. Like Brian Hollywood was before Zion beat him. Like James Silkk was, in times much similar to these when there was just noone else around to wrestle for the belt. Hell, like John Ojeda was the last time he was here, because he couldn’t handle the pressure within the company and pissed his pants, not much like the hardcore icon he is or at least should be… all you’re doing, Tiami, is presenting the belt next to your sweet, beautiful face, and warming the belt up for the next, rightful champion. If it’s John Pariah, if it’s Tim Hunt, if it’s Masked Bob Dole… I will take the belt from him, or from you if you’ll be lucky enough to leave the match with the belt. And then maybe, just maybe you all will realise that Stryker… is PWX.”

As Adam folds his arms across the chest, the scene fades to black.

This entry was posted in Roleplays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment